Skip to main content


If you’re looking for some tips to get you started with teaching or leading Computing, check out the CAS Primary main page.

Key Stage 1 (commonly abbreviated as KS1) refers to the two years of schooling in maintained schools in England and Wales normally known as Year 1 and 2 when pupils are aged between 5 and 7.

Computing at key stage 1 is part of the national curriculum and is made up of three key areas:

  • computer science,
  • digital literacy and
  • information technology

Each component is essential in preparing pupils to thrive in an increasingly digital world.

In key stage one, pupils should be taught to:

  • understand what algorithms are, how they are implemented as programs on digital devices, and that programs execute by following precise and unambiguous instructions
  • create and debug simple programs
  • use logical reasoning to predict the behaviour of simple programs
  • use technology purposefully to create, organise, store, manipulate and retrieve digital content
  • recognise common uses of information technology beyond school
  • use technology safely and respectfully, keeping personal information private; identify where to go for help and support when they have concerns about content or contact on the internet or other online technologies


Here you will find resources produced by CAS community members to support the teaching of computing to 5 - 7 year olds. All are free to download! Happy browsing!

Suggested Resources

In addition there are many videos available on the Computing at School YouTube Channel "CAS TV" - KS1 Playlist

Community Events

Many of our communities are led by KS1 specialists, and you are very welcome to attend any of these. Please check out our events page for more information.