Codebreaker Results


Callum Harrod and Ajaimon Mathen with teacher Kevin Jones

Gagan Kaur receiving her prize at Surbiton High School

As part of the Alan Turing Centenary CAS have run, in association with Animation12, the Codebreaker competition.  The task was to develop an interactive programme, using Greenfoot, on the theme of Codebreaker.

The entries we received took many different forms from exploration of ciphers to encryption with music to complex, many-levelled games.  The judges were impressed with the quality of entries and were delighted to be able to award prizes to the following winners (see below).

As part of the competition a suite of resources for Greenfoot to be used as a programming club are still available.

Animation12 held their awards ceremony in July.  Watch the video here.

Codebreaker Competition 2012 Winners


Name of Game




17+ Individual Pest Control Gagan Kaur Surbiton High Senior School, Surrey Gary Ekins
17+ group Maze Runner Callum Harrod Ajaimon Mathen Lewes 6th Form College,Sussex Downs College Kevin Jones
KS2 Individual Caesar’s Shift Ben Harries Aberdour School, Surrey Steven Murphy
KS2 Group Musical Codes Yvette Murphy and Naomi Witts Aberdour School, Surrey Steven Murphy
KS4 Individual Unbreakable Mrinank Sharma Calday Grange Grammar School, Wirral Mohammed Rahman
KS4 Special Merit Evercodes Isaac Goldberg Calday Grange Grammar School, Wirral Mohammed Rahman


<< Go back to the previous page

Computing at School is supported and endorsed by: